PDA

View Full Version : Beginning bullet swaging

Gary in Illinois
10-04-2006, 01:21 AM
If a guy wanted to learn how to swage bullets (.204 or smaller), where should he start?

I have been doing some reading on Corbin's web site but would like to see just what the process includes.

I have some experience in casting and reloading but know next to nothing about the swaging process.

Is there anyone near central Illinois who swages bullets and would be willing to show a novice what is involved?

Thanks,
Gary

Pappy
10-04-2006, 07:12 PM
Gary,

I'm a long way from Illinois, but your post is exactly why we started this forum. I intend to take some digital pix of my setup and discuss the steps involved.

The main reason for you to contact a bullet-maker before you begin is to make sure you have the temperament for the process. Some people can't imagine spending several hours at a time on these processes; others (like me) love it.

Also, making bullets for benchrest is a bit different than making hunting bullets, mainly because BR shooters routinely eliminate other sources of error, leaving the bullet to take the blame for a miss. That's a challenge.

Daryl
10-04-2006, 07:14 PM
Gary, for the small diameter bullets, a normal heavy duty reloading press will work, with the appropriate dies, of course.
: Perhaps the easiest way to swage .204's is to start with .224's. I used a rockchucker to swage .375's down to .358 and ended up with the prettiest .358, 270 gr. spitzers you could imagine. The 300 gr. round noses looked like ink markers. Both shot well under 1" from the .358 Norma mag. so the accuracy wasn't harmed. I suspect pressure within the lead bullet swaging dies was quite high, though. There are dies meant for making .224's etc on loading presses - why not .204's?
: On the other hand, perhaps some of our wealthy friends here will suggest you get the whole she-bang- thousands of denaro and do it right.

gunhaus
10-06-2006, 10:36 AM