PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from the new guy.

MightyThor
01-16-2008, 02:35 AM
Hello, I am fairly new to bullet making but come to it from three generations of previous enthusiast. My experience so far has been making 22 cal bullets from rim fire cases. I inherited dies marked FFL from my father but have no idea where they originally came from. Recently the top punch for the core seater got knocked off my bench and it shattered on the concrete floor. I would like to get a replacement if any are available.

I also inherited 25 cal and 30 cal dies from my grandfather. They are for the Hollywood press that he gave me. I have not used them yet and also have questions about them. They do not seem to have a punch to push out the formed bullet, so how do you get it out of the point die? I will try to add Pictures of my 30 cal dies if I can.

I have just purchased a use corbin press and some dies and can hardly wait till they get here. I look forward to learning as much as I can from all here.

Mntngoat
01-16-2008, 11:04 PM
Welcome M.T. Quite a few bullet makers here.

Michael

MightyThor
01-18-2008, 08:30 PM
Here are pictures of my dies and presshttp://www.antiquereloadingtools.org/discus/messages/8/1638.jpg
http://www.antiquereloadingtools.org/discus/messages/8/1639.jpg
http://www.antiquereloadingtools.org/discus/messages/8/1643.jpg

ray h
01-18-2008, 11:42 PM
Thor, is your Hollywood made of Alum.? I have 2 Universals, one of which is Alum.( paint flaked off like yours) I had it restored by Joe Mueller of Hollywood Engineering this summer, I dropped it off and got a grand tour of the place. It looks like your press is the next step up from the Universal, do you know the name of that model? He had one on display but can't recall what he said it was..

MightyThor
01-19-2008, 09:15 AM