PDA

View Full Version : Imperial sizing wax?????

sodbuster
02-17-2008, 04:12 PM
I have never used the stuff before,so I have a few questions. I just bullet seater sized some hornet cases to form .17 hornet with the Imperial and am very impressed. Now how do you guys lube the insides of your necks with the stuff so the expander doesn`t stretch your case? Also after all sizing is done how do you clean your cases to remove the wax?

Thanks for all the info,
sodbuster

Chuck Miller
02-17-2008, 05:14 PM
I use a 17cal nylon bore brush screwed onto a RCBS handle, smear some on the bristles. Grab about 6-8 cases at once, neck up, and a couple of passes with the brush, doesn't take much. As for cleaning them, I don't. You may get a little bit of powder collecting on the inside of the neck but it's never had an affect on seating and it's not there after you shoot them.

benjamin
02-17-2008, 09:22 PM
try alberta vo5 or lanolin works great forming 219 don wasp no dents or crush.

RicN
02-18-2008, 01:32 AM
Alberta V05- huh, what a good idea; will wonders never stop?

wblodgett
02-18-2008, 02:00 AM
I use the wax on the inside of the necks too (I apply it with a q-tip). I tumble my cases for 30 minutes or so once I've sized 'em to remove the wax.

I tried the old powdered graphite but it was rather messy.

Redding did add a new product to their line which should make the graphite a bit easier to apply if you want to go that route:

http://www.redding-reloading.com/pages/appmedia.html

-Bill

rstreich
02-18-2008, 12:19 PM
I quit using the sizing wax altogether not too long ago. Lately, I only use Ballistol for FL sizing and forming, the NECO moly kit for neck sizing, and assembly lube for turning and expanding necks. I think I only have one die that still has the expander ball in it, but that one will likely be replaced by a Lee collet die in the future.

Mntngoat
02-18-2008, 03:34 PM