PDA

View Full Version : Which Press?

huntnfish08
04-09-2008, 04:14 AM
I need to decide on a reloading press to buy. I'm just getting into reloading so need either a kit or a used set. I'll be loading .270Win, 17AH, and 20Prac. Not high volume so I don't need a turret press or anything. What would you guys suggest?

20Prac can be made with 223 dies and a .20 bushing. I've heard that 17AH can be made in one pass, and would like to go that route. What dies do I need?

Thanks,
Adam

The Old Redneck
04-09-2008, 10:55 AM
Lee makes a kit for just under $100.00 that has everything but dies. RCBS also has a kit with the Rockchucker press that runs around $250.00. I have used both because a friend is in the reloading supply/ammo business. I have been loading for over 40 years and have several different presses. The Lee presses work and would be a good place to start if you are on a tight budget. My favorite press is the old RCBS Rockchucker because I have used one so much over the years. For dies ask around the board here. I'm one of the old farts that bought or made dies in a series of form dies for case forming. Lots of guys use the bushing dies and that would probably be the best way to go. On forming cases, some rounds are easy to form by pulling the seater punch and using the seating die first then the FL die. Depends on the round. Good luck with whatever you choose. FB

ray h
04-09-2008, 12:05 PM
As F.B. said check out Lee, particularly the Classic. Its steel, very accurate and some here are using it for some stages of bullet swaging. IMO thats says a lot for a press.

Mntngoat
04-09-2008, 02:49 PM
I have 5 of the Lee classic presses for bullet making and use a RCBS rockchucker for hand loading. I think the Lee Classic press is better than the RCBS. May be I should paint it green.

ML

brettTC
04-09-2008, 03:05 PM
I really like my forster CO-AX, It is accurate and easy to use.I like the way the dies are held.
Brett

Varminteer
04-10-2008, 02:09 AM