PDA

View Full Version : Bullet Spinner

Graham
12-24-2006, 10:46 AM
I am just about to receive a set of Niemi dies,do I need to have a bullet spinner to check the runout of the projectile? These dies are for benchrest.
Thanks
Graham

jim saubier
12-24-2006, 01:41 PM
we do not use a Vern Junke bullet spinner. we do use a mechanical bullet spinner that actually measures something, that being runout, base to ogive or anwhere along the bullet. Ours is a Hart model, that I got some time back and i'm not sure that they make them any longer. I've seen only one other spinner and it was custom made by a machinist (Ken Livengood). There is an ad that usually runs in the back of precision shooting magazine for a guy, I think his name is Bud that makes them. I've got no experience with his but if I needed one, that is where I'd probably go for one. I'll try to get some pics of our unit to show here.

jim

jim saubier
12-24-2006, 10:16 PM
Bud Welsh
East Amherst, NY
(716)688-6344

www.high-precision.com
e-mail welsh5168@aol.com

this was from a Precision Shooting magazine dated May 2002 so I'm not certain if this is still accurate but a good place to start. I spoke to him about making a bullet spinner for me but I found one in the meantime. You'll need a spinner for the caliber(s) that you intend to make, be it 6mm, .30 cal, .22 cal, or whatever. You can provide him a sample bullet to make it if you wish.

let me know how you make out with getting one of these from Bud, I'd love to see some pics of what he comes up with and how it differs from ours.

jim

R.G. Robinett
12-24-2006, 10:42 PM
I am just about to receive a set of Niemi dies,do I need to have a bullet spinner to check the runout of the projectile? These dies are for benchrest.
Thanks
Graham