Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 01-21-2011, 07:04 PM
Supporting Member

Default 17 cal vs 20 cal for coyotes

How many of you hunt coyotes with a 17 or 20cal. I have only shot and connected on one with a 17 Javelina. I was using a 30 gr Varmint and it blew up to easily. I have since loaded Kindler 30gr Golds.
I have also switched to a 204 with 32gr V-Maxes.
What terminal results are you getting with either.
I have always been a 223, 22-250 and 243 for coyotes.
As I have been posting for nearly 4 months I have a 20 BR being built (hopefully). I see that being the medicine for coyotes.

BHB
Old 01-21-2011, 07:36 PM
Supporting Member

In the 20 calibers, you'll likely have much better luck on coyotes if you move away from the light jacketed ballistic tip bullets designed more for PD's and such.

A good factory 20 caliber coyote bullet is the Berger 35 grain HP.

In the 17's (largely in the 17 Remington), I've shot the Hornady 25 grain HP for years, and I have always had good luck with it. It will consistently penetrate far better than the BT Hornady bullets.

JME - BCB

I miss mean Tweets, competence, and $1.79 per gallon gasoline.

Yo no creo en santos que orinan.

Women and cats will do as they please. Men and dogs should relax and just get used to the idea.

Going keyboard postal over something that you read on the internet is like seeing a pile of dog crap on the sidewalk and choosing to step in it rather than stepping around it.

If You're Afraid To Offend, You Can't Be Honest - Thomas Paine
Old 01-21-2011, 07:55 PM

I agree completely with BCB in regards to HPs vs the plastic tips....