Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 04-26-2022, 05:32 AM

Send a message via AIM to foxhunter
Default lee collet die

your opinion on them and your experience.
Old 04-26-2022, 11:44 AM

I have one in most every caliber I shoot. I find less runout with them in some cases and consistent neck tension. As cheap as they are, I like having them on hand. The standard caliber dies also work with the Ackley Improved rounds I shoot. If you choose to use a standard die, the collet dies can be used as a mandrel die to expand necks. Hope this helps.
Old 04-26-2022, 11:44 AM

They make great paper weights.

Good shootin' -Al
Old 04-26-2022, 12:40 PM

I’ve been using them since about 1980 and love them.
Old 04-26-2022, 01:25 PM
Supporting Member

good for semi auto's but don't feel there's a need for rounds that are loaded singley

ML
Old 04-26-2022, 04:26 PM

Send a message via AIM to foxhunter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Nyhus View Post
They make great paper weights.

Good shootin' -Al
Al you got some splaining to do.
Old 04-26-2022, 05:07 PM

Have used the Lee collet die in several calibers and if you are into neck sizing, they do well.
Old 04-26-2022, 05:49 PM

I use them for neck sizing and have found them to turn out very consistent ammo. One thing that I have seen others who have issues with Lee Collet Dies do is to pick up a new case that has never been fired, run it through a Lee Collet Die and then measure the neck runout and/or bullet runout on a fixture that uses the case body to index off of. If they gauged a fired case AND their chamber is round and aligned with the throat of their chamber, and the flash hole is in the center of the case head, they would find that the neck runout and/or bullet runout is quite good.