Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-12-2017, 07:33 PM

Default Reflection

I am going to get my 17 HM2 back out this spring and try to kill a couple of Gophers for the Taxidermist. This will probably be my last year to Hunt Montana Gophers. I need to have one.

I started shooting Montana gophers in 1997. Didn’t shoot any from 2003 to 2007, I went off to Washington DC, where I was important in my own mind. Then I started shooting them again in 2008 when I retired. Took another break in 2013 to go to Afghanistan and earn enough money to buy a lifetimes supply of ammo. My life has change as I get older-big Seven-Oh this year. Widower-hood didn't agree with me and finding a widow that likes gopher shooting made it possible for me to continue to be the first line of defense for Montana farmers. / This makes it 15 years of Montana gopher hunting.

Haven’t kept real close count lately but for a real long time we (mainly me) were shooting somewhere between 5000 and 10,000 rounds a year of rimfire-.22LR and centerfire at gophers. Last couple of years have been slow and we shot just over 3000 rounds average a year. I would not feel uncomfortable saying over that 15 years We averaged 3500 rounds a year. Running a spread sheet based on averages I have shot somewhere around 67,000 rounds with an average kill ratio of about 67% or about 45,750 gophers shot..

I started with a 10-22. Quickly gave that up as a waste of time and went to the Remington 581. Shoot that all the way up to 2002. Very accurate little gun, that badly need a good trigger.