Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 02-08-2009, 02:34 AM

Default 14 caliber reference info

Anybody got any links for references on this 1? I'm considering a Ruger Charger in 14-17 HM2.
Old 02-08-2009, 04:23 PM

Sounds interesting. Please keep us informed of your results. Unfortunately I have no 14 cal experience.

Calaveras County, California, USA

Old 02-08-2009, 04:55 PM

I have dies made and a barrel mounted in an H&R Handi rifle for a 14HMR. Only thing that is holding me up is finding light weight .14 cal bullets, best I can do is the 15gr Genco's and I need to find 10's or 8's for the 10 twist barrel I have. That could also be an issue for you because you will not be able to drive them very fast with the mach2. If you have any sources for light .14 bullets please let me know. Larry

Old 02-08-2009, 11:57 PM

Default I might be able to help you out....

Larry,
I’m sending some light weight 14 caliber bullets to Frank and Twisted Barrel to do some testing on for us before we make a big run of them. I can send you a few to try in your 10 twist barrel as well if you can send us back information on your results with them. I’m not sure I can help you out too much with the 8 grain though as the bearing surface on them would be too small to work well with the swaging dies we currently have.

I think with our current set up the 8 grain will be too light in the nose to stabilize and unless you went with a zero freebore reamer in your chamber it would be a mighty long jump to the lands. I should have another option in the near future and could use you to test them with your 1 in 10 twist barrel for us if you’re interested.

Can I ask you what made you decide on going with the 10 twist barrel?

Carl Chapman

Extreme Accuracy
www.extremeaccuracy.net
Old 02-09-2009, 12:35 AM

I bought the barrel used, and the maker is unknown. It is a stainless mistery barrel. I just used it because it only cost me $40.00. Larry