Saubier.com  

Go Back   Saubier.com > Saubier.com Forums > Small Caliber Discussion Board

Old 09-22-2006, 01:54 PM

Default .17 barrel life and throat erosion

I'm new to the world of subcalibers. I was wondering about barrel life and throat erosion.

I was wondering about barrell life and throat erosion in th .17s. It seems like the large case .17s like the 17 Mock4 and .17 Remington, would have less life than the Bee, Ackley Bee, and HeeBee or squirrel.

Any experience on this?

And, how far can the smaller rounds reach to kill a PD or coyote?

Finally, I've heard that improper cleaning can shorten barrel life faster than shooting. What is the improper way to clean a .17 barrel?

Thanks, John C.
Old 09-22-2006, 07:14 PM
Board Sponsor

Cleaning the .17's is really no different than any other caliber except that it seems you will see more accuracy degradation with crown or throat damage. Make sure to use a bore guide and make sure to break in the barrel properly. Don't mix moly and non-moly, choose one and stick with it.

Yes the larger cases will burn out a barrel faster, but if you keep the loads away from the absolute max they will likely outlast most shooters. Also keep in mind that high volume shooting with the larger case calibers will heat the barrel rather quickly and shooting a very hot barrel will wear it faster.

Distance is really going to depend on your ability, provided you can shoot accuratly and dope the wind, 350-400 on PD's and 250-300 on 'yotes is entirely possible.

Just a quick correction when you go looking for data, it is .17 Mach IV not Mock. A very good reference for the .17's is Todd Kindlers book "Sensational Seventeens" (http://www.woodchuckden.com/catalog/catalog.pdf) great book with loads of info for the subcal shooter, good site for other supplies as well. You also need a bit of paitence with the little guys, the small cases and itty-bitty bullets (for those of us club handed folks) can be a pain.